Thursday, March 1, 2012

Iona's Machado, Marist's Yarde win POY awards

Iona's Scott Machado and Marist's Corielle Yarde have been named the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference's men's and women's Players of the Year, respectively.

Machado's victory ends a three-year Siena run. Kenny Hasbrouck, Alex Franklin and Ryan Rossiter were the last three award winners.

Siena's OD Anosike and Lily Grenci were candidates for the awards, after being named All-MAAC first team on Monday.

Loyola (Md).'s Jimmy Patsos and Marist's Brian Giorgis were named the men's and women's Coach of the Year respectively.

Niagara's Juan'ya Green was named the MAAC Rookie of the Year, an award that Siena's Evan Hymes was in the running for.

In my mind, Hymes was more valuable, but Green's offensive numbers were better. 

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home